A Tattooed Farmer’s Faith of Gold

I have a friend who had some real health struggles. It led to a very low point in his life, hard on him and his family. A lot of surgeries, immobility, and powerful medical drugs with huge side-effects.

We met with them for dinner on their 27th wedding anniversary. What a delightful visit! We had splendid conversations about our past, family, marriage, world, kids, our church life, and our faith in Jesus Christ.

They are still walking with Jesus after 27 years together, and still part of a church congregation’s life. I know too many who no longer do, so it was a joy to hear their story. To be reminded once again, we do still have lifelong fellow pilgrims who are also on this kingdom walk to the very end, with us. We needed to hear that.

Earlier that day, Marten had just finished having the work completed on his second major tattoo, and he showed it to us with an explanation of the important meanings of each element. Frankly, I was just humbled to hear the story and thankful to listen.

The next day, I asked Marten and Karen if I could write their story, because I knew it would certainly encourage many others, as it did us. I was going to make it into a splendid, polished, and fancy masterpiece. Therefore, I haven’t gotten around to publishing the story at all, for way too long. I really wanted to do it justice. So left it sitting there, unwritten.

However, I finally realized that I had to get me out of the picture and let them tell their own story, in their own words, their own way.

Therefore, I am posting their words. Written by them, with pictures of Marten’s tattoos as explained by them. I know they will inspire you.

And then, if their words did inspire you in any way, you should talk to Martin and Karen Nieuwhof, telling them why their story moved you. However, do not merely ask about the tattoos (do check them out, however. WOW!) But listen to the story of faith that inspired them. That’s the real gem.

Marten will presume on no one. He won’t even say much most times. But he said what matters here.

I am about to share their rough, uncut, words as is. I want a farmer’s faith and endurance. I want a farmer’s wife’s faith and endurance.

I posted this after our dinner together. Sent it to them with a thank-you note.
Karen tells us, “The bears on the bottom is our family and the Lion of Judah the King watches over us, this world and the universe.”
(This and the next are all one tattoo.) Karen explains, “The other one is about the storms of life. When they come the Lord is my anchor. Even when you feel like your boat has already sunk the Lord is still there to guide you love you and keep you safe.

When I asked Marten if I could tell his story, he sent me the following…. his quickly typed words are best, words he never intended to go public, so they are not polished. However, as far as I am concerned, they are gold.

Hey Andy.
Part of the reason I got tattoos is that if someone asked about them I could tell them about Jesus being my anchor. That He got me through tough times.

I’m not always good at talking about my Lord but I want to be better. Our Lord is always watching over us.
I try to connect with Him every day to stay close to Him. He is never far. I Love my Lord and that makes me the person I am.


My tattoos represent my relationship with my Lord. Where I’ve been and where I can find help. I can’t imagine life without Christ.

Marten Nieuwhof

I want a tattooed farmer’s faith made of gold. How about you?

Go and ask Marten his story. Ask Karen hers.

Tell them yours! Find out the reason for his hope. He told me, and he will be happy to tell you, also.

Love To Hear From You